jump to navigation

review: “shadowland” March 11, 2010

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: ,
trackback

Shadowland by Alyson Noel.
St. Martin’s Griffin // Hardcover // 368 pages.
Reviewed from library copy.

[Spoilers for the first two books.]

I was not a fan of this book.

When I read “Evermore,” I was pretty excited about the series and where it would lead; the series had room to grow and evolve from its steady beginning. “Blue Moon” was slow, and dragged a bit, but I was still interested and figured Noel would wrap up the story in the third and final volume, “Shadowland.” Then, the contract was extended from just a trilogy to an unending series. (As of this writing, there are two more books planned and titled.)

Ever hasn’t grown at all throughout these three volumes. She makes the same mistakes over and over again. She infuriates me over and over again. Damen seems washed out from his characterization in the first volume, a shadow of himself.

Haven and Miles (Ever’s friends) have become caricatures of themselves, popping up only as mild comic relief during Ever and Damen’s drama.

I never liked Roman, and felt like he was thrown in during an “oh, I killed Drina, I need a villain moment.” And now we have a similarly dropped in character in Jude, who is also part of Ever and Damen’s past, now here to change their relationship.

So much of the plot was a twisty rollercoaster ride that I often lost track of which turn I was in.

My older teen readers have lost interest in these books, and my younger teen readers aren’t ready for the mature themes. I don’t even know who to sell this series to anymore.

I still think Noel writes well, and that the covers for these books are truly amazing. I might be willing to try one last time for “Dark Flame” in June, but at this point (months after reading “Shadowland”), I’m frankly not liking the idea of reading another book about Ever.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Alyson Noel

starratingstarratinghalf

Comments»

1. Sarah - March 12, 2010

Everyone I’ve talked to about this one has felt the same way. My teens are feeling a little burnt out on the series too. I have one teen who was so hyped up for this book and it’s taking her forever to get through! (I was the same way and now she says she understands why it took me so long!) I really like Alyson Noel’s writing, but this book just really dragged for me. I thought the ending got better though, and I’m keeping my hopes up for Dark Flame.

2. Natalie - March 12, 2010

I really wanted to like these books. But like you, I grew tired of Ever’s character (if you could call it that) and decided to stop reading the series. I’m rather surprised that it’s been extended!


Leave a Reply

