jump to navigation

review: “what i wore to save the world” March 9, 2010

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: , ,
trackback

What I Wore to Save the World by Maryrose Wood.
Berkley Trade // Paperback // 288 pages.
Reviewed from purchased copy.

[Spoilers for the first two books in the series.]

After saving Colin from her mother, Queen Titania, Morgan is finally settling into her senior year. That is until she receives a mysterious message from Colin that sends her to Europe again to save the world from another faery plot. In her quest to save the world (yet again), will Morgan finally tell Colin of her half-goddess heritage?

The final volume in the Morgan series by Maryrose Wood does not disappoint. It’s another packed adventure through mythology, with clues sprinkled along the way.

Morgan is still as spunky as ever, and her relationship with Colin is sweet albeit a bit difficult at times. The faeries in this series are really interesting, and I like how the mythology grows and explains Morgan’s place in its history/mythology.

I did feel like this book was stretching my tolerance of coincidences — if you’re read the book you’ll know what I mean.

It’s hard to talk about the concluding volume in a series without giving anything away. But this ending volume left me satisfied and I felt like I was leaving the characters and their story in a good place before I closed the book.

These are fun, cute books — quick reads. Great for teens searching for a little chick lit mixed with a hint of faery.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Maryrose Wood

starratingstarratingstarratingstarratinghalf

Comments»

1. Jess. - March 10, 2010

I really like the cover for this book. Based on just the cover I’m putting it on my TBR list. Haha.
-Jess
(Find the Time to Read)

2. Lauren (I Was A Teenage Book Geek) - March 12, 2010

Interesting review! I haven’t read any of this series but I definitely want to now. I love a cute, fun read every now and then.


Leave a Reply

