jump to navigation

review: “fade out” March 8, 2010

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: ,
trackback

Fade Out by Rachel Caine.
Signet // Paperback // 256 pages.
Reviewed from purchased copy.

[Spoilers for the first six books!]

Now that the town of Morganville is safe from the evil vampire Bishop, Claire and her friends can go back to being normal. Well, as normal as a teenage genius, goth girl, ghost-turned-vampire, and son of a vampire hunter can be anyways. Eve tries out for a play and makes the cast, bringing documentary maker Kim into Claire’s life. But when Kim goes missing, it becomes clear that her documentary isn’t what it seems — and that it puts Claire, her friends, and Morganville in danger.

I think this might be my favorite Morganville book ever.

But, first, a little bit of history. Morganville was originally a six book contract, so the main story wraps up at the end of book six. Caine’s contract was renewed, so she decided to just create new stories in the same world.

I LOVE THAT.

I am so utterly sick of these long twisty no-end-in-sight paranormal series that I want to scream sometimes! And Morganville doesn’t drag out story lines. And this particular volume is one complete story! It doesn’t mean that we have answers to every question, but I felt such a wonderful satisfaction after closing the book.

The characters in Morganville are so well-written. I love their continued development and emotional journeys, particularly Claire and Shane. What is also so refreshing about these books are the vampires — Amelie and Myrnin are alternatively very human or absolutely terrifying. Neither of them broods, really. (Yeah, another vampire trait I’m sick of!)

My teens and I love this series. We’re working on way through it in Book Club. We have two copies of each book in the library and they are never on shelf! (Or when they are, they’re only back for taping and repair.)

Definitely recommended, one of my favorite vampire series.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Rachel Caine

starratingstarratingstarratingstarratingstarrating

Comments»

1. Trisha - March 11, 2010

I am so utterly sick of these long twisty no-end-in-sight paranormal series that I want to scream sometimes! And Morganville doesn’t drag out story lines.

Completely agree with this.

This wasn’t my favorite in the series, but I thought the transition from the omg-cliffhanger! to standalone was nicely done. It was still a satisfying installment, as you put it.


Leave a Reply

