jump to navigation

review: “splendor” March 5, 2010

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Splendor by Anna Godbersen.
Harper Collins // Hardcover // 400 pages.
Reviewed from purchased copy.

[There will be spoilers for the first three Luxe books.]

Elizabeth, Diana, Penelope, and Lina are back for a fourth installment of The Luxe series. Elizabeth, newly wed, prepares for her child’s birth; Diana goes after Henry; Penelope is stuck in a loveless marriage; and Lina is independently wealthy and finally a part of Manhattan society. Four girls with very different goals will chase their dreams and try to find true happiness.

I am not a big historical fiction reader, but I absolutely love The Luxe series! It’s got just enough history mixed in with society drama — these books remain some of my favorites.

Without giving anything away, the conclusion of this book and series was not the happy ending that I wanted for all of the girls. At first I was angry that one girl didn’t get the ending that I wanted for her, but after having some time to cool off I realize that this ending was so fitting for the series. Things aren’t always a happy ending — romance isn’t always a happy ending!

Having been with these characters for the past three books, I only want to comment that each of the girls remained in character for me. I though each of their actions (and subsequent consequences/reactions from surroundings) were really fitting.

I think the hardest thing for me is knowing that the series is over. I still feel a bit of melancholy each time I think about it. However, I *just* found out from Sarah at GreenBeanTeenQueen that Godbersen has a new series coming out about girls in the 1920s. I squealed when I found that one out!

I’d love to comment more about the very detailed endings of the book, but I think I shall have to save that for another post at another time.

But if you haven’t read this series, I highly recommend it!

Amazon
SWAN catalog
The Luxe Official Site

starratingstarratingstarratingstarratingstarratinghalf

Comments»

1. Natalie - March 6, 2010

I love love loved the Luxe series too and am so happy that she’s writing another similar series – and the 20s? How fun is that!

2. Sarah - March 7, 2010

I love this series-I still need to read Splendor though-it’s always checked out at my library! I can’t wait for her new series. Such fun guilty pleasures!:)

3. Page - March 7, 2010

I liked the ending as well after I thought about it. I thought it was true to character.

I’m excited to read her next series!


Leave a Reply

