jump to navigation

review: “invisible i” January 26, 2010

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

invisiblei

Invisible I by Stella Lennon & Melissa Kantor.
HarperTeen // Hardcover // 304 pages.
Reviewed from library copy.

When Amanda Valentino disappears from school, Callie is suddenly called into the vice principal’s office along with two other classmates — Hal and Nia. The only thing that the three of them has in common is Amanda and what she left behind for them to find. Can they figure out the clues from Amanda in order to find their friend?

Number one — thank you, thank you, thank you for deciding to create one author name (alias Stella Lennon), HarperTeen! You have made the lives of librarians easier.

This is an amazing concept novel. Think of it as “The 39 Clues” for teens. It’s an interactive, multi-author journey to find Amanda. Teens are encouraged to join in the search at The Amanda Project, where they can write themselves into the story as Amanda’s classmates or teachers. There will be eight books total, all written by well-known YA authors.

Honestly, out of all three of the characters, I was least interested in Callie. I really want to learn more about Hal and Nia (and I’ll get to in the next two books), but that made reading “Invisible I” just a little bit frustrating for me.

My biggest problem with the book was that it felt like nothing but question after question. The novel takes a while to set up the plot, and we don’t receive a lot of answers, but I really enjoyed the ride. I am hoping that the pace of the books will pick up as we go along and discover more about Amanda.

My teens are really liking this book and I know some of them are participating in the online portion. I’ll be interested to see if the series picks up momentum or loses it as it progresses.

A good solid start to a mystery series for public libraries.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
The Amanda Project
Melissa Kantor

starratingstarratingstarratingstarratinghalf

Comments»

1. Natalie - January 27, 2010

Ooh, intrigue! I haven’t heard of this series. I wonder if it’ll be as popular with teens as 39 Clues is with kids…

Also, I nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger award on my blog. Check it out! 🙂

2. Lauren (I Was A Teenage Book Geek) - January 27, 2010

I’ve seen this around but haven’t been too clear on what it’s all about. Having read your review, it does sound pretty intriguing. Love the concept, definitely. If I get a chance I’ll check this out simply because it sounds really unique.

3. Sarah - January 28, 2010

Neat!I haven’t heard of this series at all but I like the comparisons to 39 Clues since those are fairly popular at my library. Will have to recommend to acquisitions team.


Leave a Reply

