jump to navigation

review: “hush hush” January 22, 2010

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: ,
trackback

hushhush

Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick.
Simon and Schuster // Hardcover // 400 pages.
Reviewed from purchased copy.

[Um, spoilers if you’ve never seen the cover of the book.]

Nora’s always been a model student — she’s got a good head on her shoulders. Which is why no ones understands her fascination with Patch, the town’s resident bad boy. When Nora and Patch are paired up as biology partners, Nora finds that she can’t stay away from him. And when her life take a dangerous turn, Nora begins to wonder what Patch’s role is in all of this — and what her own role might be.

I have a few complaints about “Hush Hush.” My main complaint is that the “mystery” is spelled out on the cover. You want to know who’s behind the weird happenings around town? Who’s bothering Nora? Just close the book, the answer will be there.

(This is not to say that I don’t like the cover. In fact, the cover was what drew me to the book. But after reading it and going through nearly the entire book before Nora actually discovering that Patch was a fallen angel? Are you kidding me? I was annoyed.)

There are specific similarities between “Hush Hush” and “Twilight.” Obviously, biology partners and all. I’d be a bad reviewer if I didn’t point it out.

However, there is more than enough material here to make this book a unique contribution to YA paranormal. I’m very interested to see where the next part of the story will go (Fitzpatrick has a sequel already set for fall of 2010), especially now that we’ve been let in on the secret and the mythology of the story can be explored.

My advice for this book? Sit back and enjoy the ride. Don’t over-think it!

Recommended for public libraries with paranormal readers.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Becca Fitzpatrick

starratingstarratingstarratingstarrating

Comments»

1. Sarah - January 22, 2010

Sounds good! I have this book but still haven’t read it. Must get on that obviously.

2. Abby - January 22, 2010

Seriously, the cover kinda ruins the tension! (Although I do think the cover is striking. It drew me in, too.)

3. Lauren (I Was A Teenage Book Geek) - January 23, 2010

I have to laugh at what you say about the cover and spoilers. I also found a few things to object to in this one, but if you forget about that and go with it… well, yep, it’s a hell of a ride. I can’t wait for the sequel!

4. Caroline - January 23, 2010

Thanks for this review! I love the cover, but I haven’t read it yet, so I don’t know what my feelings are about it in connection to the book. It was kind of the same with Twilight – it was spelled out in big letters on the back of the book that (spoiler?) Edward was a vampire, but then it took so long to get to the ‘truth.’


Leave a Reply

