jump to navigation

bloggiesta: day one! January 8, 2010

Posted by Katie in community.
Tags:
trackback

Here’s where I’ll be posting my updates throughout the day about what I’ve been accomplishing for Bloggiesta!

My original list:

  • Make a Blogaversary button and link it up in the sidebar.
  • Update my challenges section. I have four challenges I haven’t updated over there and a couple of posts to link up.
  • Awards — several of you fabulous people have passed on blogger awards to me and I absolutely fail at putting them up/acknowledging that I’ve received them. I’ll fix that.
  • Information about “Where I Read.”
  • Need to update my sidebar buttons.
  • Cross-posting reviews to Goodreads, LibraryThing, and Amazon.com.
  • Creating book review templates for all of the books that I’ve read, but don’t have templates for.
  • Doing my monthly round-ups for September, October, November, and December. I’ve been lax about these!
  • Going back through my ARC reviews and linking up my library catalog if they received the book by now.
  • Making a Twitter button.
  • Moving my blogroll to its own page; making sure links are still correct and working; double-checking Bloglines vs. blogroll to add/delete bloggers.
  • Schedule posts for as often as I can.
  • Update my lists on Twitter/clean out followers for spambots.
  • Run my 2009 statistics & make post. Make reading goals.
  • Get a better subscribe link right up in the blog.
  • Make a “my posts elsewhere” area to link where I’ve guest blogger, interviewed, and what weeks I’ve participated in.
  • Double check my publication dates area for accuracy. Add any other reads I’ve wishlist-ed on Goodreads.
  • Make a “contact me” page with email, links to social networking tools, etc.
  • Clean up tags.
  • Update my Debut Author Challenge reading list.

Hour One: (1:15 p.m. to 2:15 p.m.) Lunch Break

  • Make a Blogaversary button and link it up in the sidebar.
  • Moving my blogroll to its own page; making sure links are still correct and working; double-checking Bloglines vs. blogroll to add/delete bloggers.
  • Update my lists on Twitter/clean out followers for spambots. [Used great tool TwitBlock available here.]

And that’s it for hour one. I’ll update this posts as I go for the night!

Hours Two through Nine: (7:00 p.m. to 3:00 a.m.) Friday Night

  • Update my challenges section. I have four challenges I haven’t updated over there and a couple of posts to link up.
  • Awards — several of you fabulous people have passed on blogger awards to me and I absolutely fail at putting them up/acknowledging that I’ve received them. I’ll fix that.
  • Going back through my ARC reviews and linking up my library catalog if they received the book by now.
  • Get a better subscribe link right up front in the blog.
  • Mini-Challenges from 2009> Yep, all twelve of them. It was a TON of fun, but a lot of work. I’m so glad I did it.

Also, in visiting other people’s blogs, I wound up adding a few things to my list. Like…the mini-challenges which I had completely forgotten to put on there in the first place.

Feel free to check back to see my progress or follow @katietweetsya to watch it live!

Comments»

1. Monica - January 8, 2010

Great List. Good Luck!

2. Natasha @ Maw Books - January 8, 2010

Your list is awesome Katie. I hope you accomplish much of it!! I will be cheering you on.

3. Suey - January 8, 2010

Looks like you are off to a great start. What an amazing list you have going!

4. Bookjourney - January 8, 2010

Wow you are on a mission! 🙂 Have lots of fun!

5. Ali - January 9, 2010

You’re doing great so far!

No Bloggiesta for me this time around–it’s my son’s 13th birthday on Monday and we’re spending the weekend preparing. Tomorrow: shopping, cleaning, food shopping, and tidying. Sunday: party #1 and prepare for party #2. Maybe I should make a list on my blog and call it the anti-bloggiesta?


Leave a Reply

