jump to navigation

classic review: “just listen” January 5, 2010

Posted by Katie in classic reviews.
Tags: ,
trackback

[Classic reviews are reviews that I’ve already written for another source and have moved the text here. I may comment further on them as well.]

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen.
Speak // Hardcover // 400 pages.
Reviewed from library copy.

Everyone thinks Annabel’s life is perfect. That is, except for Annabel. After a really awful summer, Annabel goes back to school and does her best to get through the school year despite the fact that both her best friends have dumped her. And then Annabel meets Owen and her life changes drastically once again.

This book was really good and I stayed up to finish reading it. I guessed Annabel’s secret, but it didn’t ruin the story for me. Sarah Dessen writes very realistic stories, so this is probably a pick for older teens, but it’s definitely one of my favorite recently read books. [March 2008]

Nearly two years later, I still find myself recommending this book to my tenth grade girls like it’s water. Nearly every one of them has read it, and they begged me to include it on our Teen Book Club vote (and I did) so that they could vote for it (which they did), and get their own copies (which the library bought them).

Even though I would argue that Dessen has a pattern with her novels (girl has problems in life, girl meets boy, girl changes her life — sometimes because of boy, not all the time, girl and boy get together, yay), I’m not bored by it and find myself instead wow-ed by her characterization and language. Every time I close a Sarah Dessen novel, I smile and want to start reading it again from the beginning.

Pick one up if you haven’t! You won’t regret it.

Amazon.com
SWAN Catalog
Sarah Dessen

starratingstarratingstarratingstarratingstarratinghalf

Comments»

1. muriel - June 27, 2010

it was really good an interesting i never new that about music

2. Mia - March 12, 2011

THIS IS THE BEST BOOK YET


Leave a Reply

