jump to navigation

review: “the everafter” December 18, 2009

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: ,
trackback

theeverafter

The Everafter by Amy Huntley.
Balzer & Bray // Hardcover // 256 pages.
Reviewed from library copy.

Madison Stanton is dead. She may be dead, but she has no idea where she is. All Maddy knows is that she’s alone, it’s dark, and she’s surrounded by objects she lost in her former life. When Maddy touches the objects, she’s taken back to the time and place she lost them. And what Maddy soon discovers is that she can manipulate the events and change her history. And if she can change her history…can she change her death?

I’m still not sure entirely what I think about this one, and it’s been a long time since I read it.

But, let’s talk about what I loved — Madison and Gabe’s relationship, the questions this book raised on life and death, the original take on the afterlife. The objects that Madison sees and the memories they are attached to are so real and relatable, they were the perfect way to connect readers to Madison.

Things I didn’t so much love — the cover. The orchids have meaning, but they look liked flowers with skulls on them to me. That’s what I honestly thought they were until I got the book in my hands! But the lasting impression I have of this book, the taste it left in my mouth is what leaves me feeling conflicted still. The way that the book ends does not leave me feeling hopeful or particularly good. And I don’t mind sad endings, but this one was just unsettling.

Overall, I think this novel is well-written and interesting. What I really want to know is how teens are reacting to this book. And I’m still waiting to hear from my teens on it. I can definitely see this novel working for teens, but I think it will definitely have to be book-talked to get it into their hands.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Amy Huntley

starratingstarratingstarratingstarratinghalf

Comments»

1. Luna - December 19, 2009

Hello!!!
Well, I read what you’ve written this book, and ultimately, I am curious to read it. I’ll buy it for Christmas. I love your blog * ¬ * It´s amazing! Thanks and Happy Holidays!

2. Lauren (I Was A Teenage Book Geek) - December 19, 2009

Interesting review. I do want to read this one at some point, but many of the reviews I’m reading say it’s good without brimming over with enthusiasm about it. I guess that’s to do with the inner conflict about it you’re describing?

3. historyofshe - December 19, 2009

I didn’t notice the skulls at first, but you are so right!


Leave a Reply

