jump to navigation

in my mailbox (22). November 14, 2009

Posted by Katie in in my mailbox.
Tags:
trackback

In My Mailbox explores the contents of my “mailbox” on a weekly basis. I’ll be using this as a book and contest round-up tool to show what I’m getting ready to review. If you would like to participate and have your own “In My Mailbox” post, you can find more information here at The Story Siren.

A slow week once again because of NaNoWriMo and bathroom construction. (We’re tearing up the whole floor, we already tore down the walls and re-dry walled, this feels like a never-ending cycle right now.) I was on vacation this week from work, but most of my time went to cleaning and construction instead of NaNo and blogging, like I wanted it to. I’m still way behind in word count (9k behind, haha), but it’ll be fine. But I did a bit of Christmas shopping on Wednesday, and wound up with a fair share of my own books…

purchased11-14

“How to Say Goodbye in Robot” by Natalie Standiford, “Patron Saint of Butterflies” by Cecilia Galante, and “Deadly Little Lies” by Laurie Faria Stolarz.

bcreatures-small

“Beautiful Creatures” by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.

Yes, I’ve already read this one, but it’s such an amazing book that I bought a copy for myself to keep. The official release date is December 1st, but I was able to snag my copy at Barnes and Noble. (Pretty sure that most Barnes have already put out the book. My local independent has not, and neither has Borders. Just an FYI if you’re looking for your own copy.)

If you’re still needing to be convinced to pick this one up, you can re-read my non-spoilery review.

(Seriously, add this book to your holiday list if you haven’t already. It is amazing!)

shelfdiscovery

“Shelf Discovery” by Lizzie Skurnick.

I picked up my own copy of this so that I could re-read the book to make my final decisions about which books I’m going to choose for a re-read/first-read for Julie’s Shelf Discovery Challenge at Booking Mama. I am so thrilled to be a part of this challenge and so very excited to do a little bit of childhood reminiscing.

So, what’s in your mailbox?

Comments»

1. Tena - November 14, 2009

Shelf Discovery looks awesome, going to go look more into it!

Happy Reading this week

2. Alexia561 - November 14, 2009

Have heard a lot of good things about Beautiful Creatures, so may have to pick up a copy. Enjoy your books!

3. Stormi - November 14, 2009

I would love Beautiful Creatures..you got some great books.

Here is mine:

http://writesthoughts.blogspot.com/2009/11/imm-saturdays-mailbox-raid_14.html

4. Melanie - November 14, 2009

You received some great books this week! I have a question. Is Deadly Little Lies part of a series? I think I heard something to that effect, but I’m not completely sure.

I have a copy of How to Say Goodbye in Robot. It looks good! Congrats on getting all your Christmas shopping done. I haven’t even gotten started yet…

5. Callie (Handle Like Hendrix) - November 14, 2009

I really want to read How to Say Goodbye in Robot. Enjoy!!

6. Jessica W. - Book Bound - November 15, 2009

Great IMM this week! I can’t wait for Beautiful Creatures! The Patron Saint of Butterflies and Deadly Little Lies have caught my attention too.

Enjoy your reads! : D

Jessica W.

7. Aimee - November 15, 2009

Beautiful creatures – i really need to get my hands on that book…
great haul

I’ve done my own IMM this week, if you’re interested…

Aimee 🙂
http://myflutteringheart.blogspot.com

8. Rebecca - November 15, 2009

Great books you got this week. Deadly Little Lies looks really good. Hope you enjoy reading all your books.

9. Lauren (I Was A Teenage Book Geek) - November 15, 2009

Okay, if Beautiful Creatures is *that* good, I have to give it higher priority on my wishlist for sure. Off to check out your review now…

I’m behind on by NaNoNovel too. Actually, there’s no way I’m going to get there by the end of the month. Good luck with your wordcount though!

10. Nina - November 15, 2009

They look and sound great. Heart many great things about Beautiful creatues.
A very happy reading to YOU.

Au Revoir, NINA

11. the story siren - November 15, 2009

AWESOME books this week! Wasn’t BC fabulous! Hope you enjoy them all! Happy reading!

12. Deltay - November 15, 2009

What a great week! Happy reading 🙂

13. Jill - November 15, 2009

I want Deadly Little Lies! I’d say I want BC, but I already got it 🙂

14. Book Chick City - November 16, 2009

I will definitely be buying a copy of Beautiful Creatures when it’s released here in the UK, have heard so many great things about it. Enjoy all your books!

15. Bookjourney - November 22, 2009

Your books look great – I will be interested in the reviews.


Leave a Reply

