jump to navigation

review: “meridian” November 4, 2009

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags:
trackback

meridian

Meridian by Amber Kizer.
Delacorte // Hardcover // 320 pages.
Reviewed from library copy.

Meridian Sozu can’t seem to escape from the dead, literally. All of her life, insects, animals, even humans have died around her. On her 16th birthday, she witnesses a horrible car accident and her body falls victim to terrible pain. Then, Meridian’s family seemingly abandons her and sends her off to Auntie without any explanation. But it turns out that Meridian’s history is complicated and that Auntie is the only one who will be able to help her, and to protect her.

I really liked the idea of this novel, but I had a hard time getting into the book. Meridian as a narrator held me at an arm’s length. I wasn’t pulled into her story and I think the reason why is the speed at which the novel happens. There isn’t enough time for set-up and I feel like the mythology behind the story was never fully explained to my satisfaction. And just as I was getting into the novel and finally feeling like I almost had Meridian’s character in reach, the conclusion abruptly happened.

The biggest problem I had with this novel was I felt it was building to a sequel or series the whole time. And once I finished, I was surprised to learn that there wasn’t a planned sequel in place. (I’ve since learned that the author is working on a companion book.) I would have preferred a better paced story without the sequel looming overhead. However, it does set up a sequel nicely and I think I would still pick up the companion book if/when it does come out.

I didn’t dislike the book. And I know it will have teen readers. But I wasn’t captured by it. I’m an escapist reader, I want to be drawn in and caught up, only to be sad to close the book later on. Unfortunately, I didn’t experience this escape during the course of “Meridian.”

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Amber Kizer

starratingstarratingstarrating

Comments»

1. Lauren (I Was A Teenage Book Geek) - November 5, 2009

Now I’m all confused! Over the past few days, I’ve become slightly obsessed with this one, and considered adding it to my gigantic TBR pile. (Because the ‘look inside’ pages on Amazon are fantastic.) However, I really don’t like it when the first book in a series is all set-up for the next book. You write a very persuasive review, so I’m thinking I can afford to let this one wait a while longer.


Leave a Reply

