jump to navigation

in my mailbox (20). October 31, 2009

Posted by Katie in in my mailbox.
Tags:
trackback

In My Mailbox explores the contents of my “mailbox” on a weekly basis. I’ll be using this as a book and contest round-up tool to show what I’m getting ready to review. If you would like to participate and have your own “In My Mailbox” post, you can find more information here at The Story Siren.

A slow week here because of NaNoWriMo around the corner. I returned all my library books and froze all my holds until after November…but I can’t help getting my hands on some new releases.

Bought

splendor
“Splendor” by Anna Godbersen.

A spring turns into summer, Elizabeth relishes her new role as a young wife, while her sister, Diana, searches for adventure abroad. But when a surprising clue about their father’s death comes to light, the Holland girls wonder at what cost a life of splendor comes.

Carolina Broad, society’s newest darling, fans a flame from her past, oblivious to how it might burn her future. Penelope Schoonmaker is finally Manhattan royalty—but when a real prince visits the city, she covets a title that comes with a crown. Her husband, Henry, bravely went to war, only to discover that his father’s rule extends well beyond New York’s shores and that fighting for love may prove a losing battle.

In the dramatic conclusion to the bestselling Luxe series, New York’s most dazzling socialites chase dreams, cling to promises, and tempt fate. As society watches what will become of the city’s oldest families and newest fortunes, one question remains: Will its stars fade away or will they shine ever brighter?

(I loved it. I read it already and highly recommend it!)

tempted
“Tempted’ by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast.

Summary is too spoiler-ish for people who haven’t read the book. Honestly? I’ve grown tired of the series and hope that it can move forward in plot instead of re-hashing the same things over and over again. I don’t have high hopes for this, but still need to read it to stay current with my teens.

That’s it for me this week. What’s new for you?

Comments»

1. Cindy - November 1, 2009

Have fun reading! I also bought these two this week!

2. Grain de Beaute - November 1, 2009

I haven’t read The Luxe series. But a lot of people have been recommending this series to me so I might try this one of this days.

Here’s my In My Mailbox Post for this week: In My Mailbox

3. bookalicious - November 1, 2009

Oooh, Splendor, can’t wait to read it myself!!

4. Nina - November 1, 2009

Splendor looks beautiful.

Have fun reading it.

Here’s what I got:
http://jadorehappyendings.blogspot.com/2009/10/early-imb-6.html

5. Kathy - November 1, 2009

I bought “Splendor” for my HS Media Center. I didn’t read it first. I tried the first one in the series and just couldn’t get into it. I know the series has a loyal following at the HS Media Center though.

I also bought and read “Tempted” this week. That is one series that I am reading before donating them to the Media Center. When I told one of my fellow teachers that I had it, her first comment was “can I read it next?” So it might take a few days before it is available for the students to check out.

Enjoy!

6. Tena - November 1, 2009

two awesome books, lucky!
Happy Reading

P.s here is mine if you have time to take a peek
http://5150bookslut.blogspot.com/2009/11/in-my-mailbox-110109.html

7. Rebecca - November 1, 2009

Great books you got this week. I saw Splendor at Borders today. Hope you enjoy reading all your books.

8. Jen - Devourer of Books - November 2, 2009

You must have been very excited for Splendor if you got it and read it in one week, catapulting it to the top of your TBR pile! I tried The Luxe, but I just couldn’t get into it, so I abandoned the series there.


Leave a Reply

