jump to navigation

read-a-thon wrap-up. October 27, 2009

Posted by Katie in shoptalk.
Tags:
trackback

Totals for the October 2009 Read-a-thon:

Books Read: 7
Books: “Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days” by Jeff Kinney, “Lament” by Maggie Stiefvater, “Ballad” by Maggie Stiefvater, “Story of a Girl” by Sara Zarr, “Bloom” by Elizabeth Scott, “Good Neighbors 2: Kith” by Holly Black, and “Vladimir Tod: Eighth Grade Bites” by Heather Brewer.
Totals: Four novels, two graphic novels, one audio book.
Pages Read: 1704 pages.
Hours Read: About fourteen hours…not particularly sure.

storyofagirl
Listened to on and off all day; finished it around 12:45 a.m.
“Story of a Girl” by Sara Zarr.

I liked the story of the book and I liked taking a break from reading. (My eyes, my eyes!) But I still had a lot of trouble keeping my mind on the book while listening. Honestly, it worked better for me if I was doing a mindless task (ie typing, or folding laundry) than just listening. And it was really bad in the car. Way too many distractions (squirrels, traffic lights, my own mind, turn on the wipers, turn off the wipers…) maybe I’m just too new of a driver for audio books. I will try another couple of audio books before I wipe them off my radar…but I much prefer having a physical book in hand.

bloom
…I have no idea. This was the book I wound up taking three short cat naps through.
“Bloom” by Elizabeth Scott.

Awwww, what a sweet book. I really liked this one — it was the perfect length for the read-a-thon. It was weird though, because I’ve only read Scott’s heavier titles — “Love You Hate You Miss You” and “Living Dead Girl,” so this was a departure from what I’m used to. The cover of the book did tip me off (it’s really a very crisp green in real life), so I was prepared for the lightness of the book. Be careful giving to fans of the darker stuff without explaining that it’s light.

goodneighborskith
This was somewhere between 3:30 a.m. and 4:30 a.m.
“Kith” by Holly Black.

This is the second book in the “Good Neighbors” series by Black. Really like the story, and I think the graphic novel aspects (illustrations? art? drawings? I don’t know the right terminology here) is such a wonderful compliment to the characterizations and the world that Black has created. I needed a graphic novel here in my reading schedule. After that I went to bed.

eighthgradebites
Waking up somewhere after 8:00 and finishing just before my cut-off time of 10:30 a.m.
“Eighth Grade Bites” by Heather Brewer.

I am so thankful for this series in my library. My teen boys just flock to it (like the girls do with “Twilight”). I really enjoyed the new take on the vampire world. And I’m very eager to discuss the next installment (“Ninth Grade Slays”) with Teen Book Club later on this month.

And that was my read-a-thon. I decided to spend most of my time off the computer, reading and the like. I did wind up regretting that decision. I really feel like I missed a lot of the camaraderie. I really enjoyed the read-a-thon though, and I already have some goals for next time. (Don’t schedule a big event with friends in the middle of prime reading time. Spend some time cheerleading for others. Visit other participant’s blogs!)

Comments»

1. Jen - Devourer of Books - October 27, 2009

Oh yah, I definitely have to be doing something to listen to audiobooks, just sitting does NOT work for me, although I do like to listen while driving.


Leave a Reply

