jump to navigation

read-a-thon update (1). October 24, 2009

Posted by Katie in shoptalk.
Tags:
trackback

Well, I’m at the twelve hour mark. I thought I would pop back in and update y’all on my status. (And I’m listening to an audio book, so I am still reading at I’m typing this, haha! Win!)

dogdays
Read from 10:30 to 11:15ish:
“Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Doys” by Jeff Kinney.

Mini-review: I like these books a lot. My kids at the library LOVE them and I swear, I put more holds on these books than all my other holds combined. This installment of series felt like stretching it to me. I don’t know if the series is getting old, or if I’m just not liking Greg being out of school. It will be interesting to see reactions from the kids. But I didn’t laugh out loud this time.

lament
Read from 11:20ish to 11:45ish (then drove so switched to audio book); read from 1:30ish to 3:00ish.
“Lament” by Maggie Stiefvater.

Mini-review: I think I would definitely make a faerie deal to be friends with Maggie. She amazes me. Although, I wish I had some Irish music to listen to while reading it. My OCR of “Bright Lights, Big City” was a little bit of an odd accompaniment. [Yes, my beloved iPod is currently broken…I’m back to CDs, old school style.]

Then, I met up with my two best friends from college and we carved pumpkins while watching “Hocus Pocus.”

Picture 027
Jessica’s, Kim’s, and mine.

ballad
Read from 8:15ish to 10:15ish.
“Ballad” by Maggie Stiefvater.

Mini-review: Still love Maggie. Still think this series might be some of my favorite reads of the year. Still wish I had proper music to listen to. [Would it be possible to package a CD with the book? That would rock.]

And lastly…my first ever audio book.

storyofagirl
Listened to on and off all day; still listening to it.
“Story of a Girl” by Sara Zarr.

Can’t review it cause I’m still in the middle of it. But I have to say that my mind wanders way more than it should during audio books. I hear something that Deanna says (and I hate not knowing if that’s the spelling from the book…) and then I go on a tangent and forget that she’s still talking. Just a split second, but enough that I feel like I’m missing something.

But I’m off to go lie down and listen to it with my eyes closed. (But not sleeping!)

Happy read-a-thon guys! Your comments have made/are making my night. <3.

Comments»

1. Marg - October 24, 2009

Good luck with staying awake whilst listening with your eyes closed. I wouldn’t be able to do that!

Well done on your readathon effort!

2. Belle - October 24, 2009

Love your progress report! And audiobooks – multitasking is so wonderful! Happy reading!

3. Lu - October 25, 2009

You’re doing an amazing job, keep it up!

4. Lenore - October 25, 2009

Nice pumpkins! Keep up the good reading!

5. Lightheaded - October 25, 2009

Seven minutes before the Read-a-Thon ends, I hope you had a fun time reading books 🙂

6. Jen - Devourer of Books - October 25, 2009

I’m impressed that you can type and listen to an audiobook at the same time. I can do lots of things at the same time I listen to an audiobook, but nothing involving words.


Leave a Reply

