jump to navigation

review: “heist society” October 23, 2009

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: , ,
trackback

heistsociety

Heist Society by Ally Carter.
Hyperion // ARC // 304 pages.
Reviewed from an ARC, received at ALA’s Annual Conference 2009.

Kat Bishop’s a thief. Not just any thief. She’s a major player in the heist world. Her whole family’s in the business. So, it’s a huge surprise when Kat suddenly drops off the radar to attend a private, normal boarding school. But when Hale shows up and tells Kat that her dad is in trouble and that only she can pull off the job needed to save him, Kat doesn’t hesitate to dive back in to her life of crime. After all, family is family.

First I want to mention just how floored I was that I managed to get a copy of this book. This was my dream of ALA that somehow I stumbled onto this book. So, yes, I was hugely excited and spent the rest of my day at the conference peeking at it.

I think Ally Carter is just a phenomenal chick lit/adventure writer, and even more so that she knows how to balance the real world teen reactions & quirks with her incredible, highly specialized worlds. Both of her series are firmly rooted in reality by her characters, even though their circumstances are out of the ordinary.

“Heist Society” started off with a bang, dragging Kat back into the world she was running from. I liked Kat as a character. She’s very different from Cammie (Carter’s other leading lady from the Gallagher Girl books), a really unique character. The other characters are fun, and intriguing. I predict many teen girls will be falling in love with Hale. (And perhaps some young teen librarians…)

The book was a bit slow for me and I can’t tell if that’s because I was savoring it or if it was because I was in the middle of summer reading and everything was crazy. I will say that I did get a little confused with the locations (Kat’s mission sends her traveling throughout Europe), but I chalked that up to the fact that I’ve been stuck in the US my whole life.

A strong start to her new series. I’ll be purchasing it for the library and looking forward to future installments.

Amazon
SWAN Catalog
Ally Carter

starratingstarratingstarratingstarrating

Comments»

1. jennifer - October 23, 2009

OMG! dying to read this! I love Ally’s books.

2. Sarah - October 23, 2009

I didn’t see this one at ALA-lucky you!! I’m looking forward to this one, since I’ve enjoyed the Gallagher Girl books.

3. Alexa - October 24, 2009

I am dying for this book, even more so now the cover has been released, it is beautiful!

4. xoxo - January 2, 2010

i rrreeeaaallllllyyyy want to read this lol
how did u get a copy of it ?!
for me it doesn’t come out till feb…
lucky u 🙂
btw i have all the books from cammie’s series haha
wat is ALA ?

5. Kat - June 7, 2010

Heist Society is a great book. I read it because Ally Carter wrote it and the summary was SOOOOOOOO catching. I love books with thieves or spies(GALLAGHER GIRLS RULE!!)

6. Ashlie - November 15, 2010

I loved this book! I would recommend it to anyone! Feel free to check out the review I made on my blog 🙂
http://ppbooks.wordpress.com/2010/11/15/book-reviewrave-heist-society-by-ally-carter/


Leave a Reply

