jump to navigation

review: “why i let my hair grow out” October 21, 2009

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: , ,
trackback

whyiletmyhairgrowout

Why I Let My Hair Grow Out by Maryrose Wood.
Berkley Trade // Paperback // 224 pages.
Reviewed from purchased copy.

What’s a girl to do after her boyfriend dumps her? Well, if that girl is Morgan Rawlinson, she’ll chop off her hair, dye it orange, and manage to get sent away by her parents to Ireland to get over it. Of course, this isn’t the vacation many teens would imagine — this is a bike tour of Ireland. Determined to hook-up with Colin, the guy who drives their luggage van, Morgan throw herself into the task. But when she ends up in a faery world, this wasn’t exactly what she had planned.

Okay, why had I never seen these books before this August? That is flat-out inexcusable, book publishing world. The books are funny, smart, and completely perfect for teenage girls. I mean, the cover alone will sell the book.

Morgan is equally mature and immature. Readers will easily relate to being the dumped one in the relationship and her subsequent choice to act out. I think they will also relate to her desire to do something to move on (whether or not they agree with hooking up with Colin…who knows).

The supernatural twist in the book surprised me. I wasn’t expecting it to happen like it did. And I didn’t expect what was happening to be true. (Morgan’s first forays into faery are passed off as a dream-like sequence. I’ll admit it — I thought she was hallucinating for sure. This is what happens when you live spoiler-free for books. I don’t read reviews without having read the book. I also don’t read backs of books even when I own the book. I just dive in. Little known facts about me as a reader.)

Anyways, I liked being surprised. It was nice. I read this one back to back with the next in the series and am eagerly awaiting the third.

My only serious beef? The books are only available in paperback. Which makes owning them at the library difficult. (My teens have no idea how to care for a paperback gently. None at all.) Difficult, but doable.

Quality fun, a quick breezy read.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Maryrose Wood

starratingstarratingstarratingstarratinghalf

Comments»

1. Jen - Devourer of Books - October 21, 2009

I LOVE the cover! I may have to check this out…

2. Justine - October 30, 2009

This sounds really interesting 🙂 I’ll have to read this one too!


Leave a Reply

