jump to navigation

banned books week wrap-up. October 2, 2009

Posted by Katie in library work.
Tags:
trackback

Well, it has been an eventful Banned Books Week for me.

But, I really want to take the time to talk about a few things.

First of all, it’s true that books aren’t banned in the traditional sense anymore in the United States. (Yeah, I’m admitting it — the Wall Street Journal got it right…partially.)

But censorship is still alive and well and for a lot of my teens the library is the only place to get a book.

Just a quick wrap-up of what’s gone in the world just this week/month that prevented teens from reading books:

And that’s only what I’ve heard about.

I’ll wrap this entry up by telling you what I did for my library. I made a display to educate my teens about BBW. I spent a lot of time researching book challenges and came up with four categories: “Challenged,” “Restricted,” “Unresolved,” and “Banned.” I covered the books in brown paper, marked them as their category and on the back of the book wrote what happened (excluding why the book was challenged so as not to anger parents and my director).

I labeled the display “Freedom to Read?”

Every day after school, I had teens asking me about the display. Every day after school, I gave a brief talk by the display to explain what it was. This went over so much better than previous BBW displays.

My teens and I agree, the week should be re-titled “Celebrate Freedom to Read.”

[Pictures to come when I get home and upload from my camera.]

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

