jump to navigation

review: “prophecy of the sisters” September 26, 2009

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

prophecyofthesisters

Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink.
Little, Brown // Hardcover // 352 pages.
Reviewed from purchased copy.

Lia and Alice Milthorpe are twin sisters bound together by blood and by prophecy. When their father dies, Lia watches Alice drift farther away from her until her sister is almost unrecognizable. While cleaning our their father’s study, Lia stumbles upon a prophecy…one that is speaking of her and Alice. One twin will guard the gates from being opened; the other will open the gates. Divided, Lia scrambles to discover the true meaning of the prophecy before Alice does.

This book really surprised me. It felt like I hadn’t heard of it at all and then all of a sudden, the entire blogosphere was buzzing about it. I knew that it had to be a winner, so I went ahead and pre-ordered it. And then it didn’t ship until the end of the month. So, I had a minor drama in getting the book.

It was well worth the wait.

I love Lia. I think she is a phenomenal character and one that I definitely look forward to learning and growing with (this is the first in a planned trilogy).

The setting for this novel is a joy to uncover as Zink writes about it. I desperately want to walk in Lia’s world and to explore. I want to experience her time, and her father’s study. (And I’m not a historical fiction reader, so that’s a big compliment from me!)

Lia’s family relationships and history are beautifully woven. I really felt the anguish and confusion Lia did when she discovered the prophecy, when she realized that her mother and aunt also were part of the prophecy.

I would definitely say that this book is a stunning debut. A perfect balance between gothic romance, historical fiction, and supernatural novels. I cannot wait until the next two books are published. I will be sitting here biting my nails until it happens.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Michelle Zink

starratingstarratingstarratingstarratingstarratinghalf

Comments»

1. Aimee - September 26, 2009

Hi – great review!

I felt pretty much the same as you – if you’d like to read my review, its here:
http://myflutteringheart.blogspot.com/2009/08/book-review-prophecy-of-sisters-by.html

Michelle Zink was kind enough to leave a comment – and I can’t wait til the second one!


Leave a Reply

