jump to navigation

review: “blood promise” September 25, 2009

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: , ,
trackback

bloodpromise

Blood Promise by Richelle Mead.
Razorbill // Hardcover // 512 pages.
Reviewed from purchased copy.

Rose Hathaway is about to do the hardest thing that she’s ever done — kill the man she loves. After Dimitri was turned into a Strigoi, Rose sets out on a long journey to Russia to find him again. Meanwhile, Lissa remains at St. Vladimir’s Academy without Rose and there’s something amiss with the Academy and Tatiana’s visit. With the two friends apart for the first time, how will they manage?

We’re going for a full out spoilers review here. It’s been a month.

Let’s talk about the things I didn’t like quickly. The sudden appearance of Alchemists. Would have much preferred Rose to run into some graduates of the Academy to help her. Hated that Lissa stayed behind. (I understand it, but it doesn’t mean I have to like it. I mean, if that was my best friend and she had gone through what Rose had gone through, there would be absolutely no way that she’d leave me behind.) Lack of Christian. Some time problems/issues. Recapping at the beginning of the book didn’t work for me. I remembered “Shadow Kiss” just fine.

But stop complaining! I want everyone to sit back and take a deep breath — this series isn’t over and Mead did some seriously awesome things with this book to set up for “Spirit Bound.”

The spirit battle may be my favorite thing ever from the whole series. You have no idea the amount of gleeful-squeeing that came out of my mouth during that scene.

I love Dimitri’s family — they are such perfect echoes of his personality and just a great thing to see (especially since I was missing Dimitri something fierce).

Rose’s time spent with Dimitri-Strigoi (because he was NOT Dimitri) fit in the world and while it might have been hard to read/stomach, I liked it. I think that it really proved that Dimitri wasn’t himself, that there wasn’t some glimmer of good in him. It made readers understand Rose “killing” him.

Which brings up to the twist, the fairy tale, the ring, the possibility that Dimitri may be okay. Yeah, I thought it was a bit eh-eh. Yeah, I saw it coming. But let’s be realistic here, no one wants to see Harry Potter die at the end of book seven. Just like no one wants to see Dimitri gone and Rose miserable.

Okay, longest review ever. (Really, we’re close to 400 words here!)

I really enjoyed this book. View it as part of the series, part of the journey. And enjoy the ride.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Richelle Mead

starratingstarratingstarratingstarrating

Comments»

1. Debbie - September 26, 2009

Great review! I loved this book and the series. The whole alchemist thing did seem very sudden but I did like Lissa staying behind. I thought it was a good way to wake Lissa up that she is kind of selfish in expecting Rose to always be there just for her. Like it never even occurred to her to accompany Rose even though she should have realized how important this was to her.

readwhatyouknow - September 27, 2009

Oooh, I never thought about it that way. Lissa does need to grow up a bit. I feel like she’s really sheltered even though she’s a pretty good diplomat.

I am just dying for the next book though. Argh, why is April so far away?

2. Debbie - September 27, 2009

I know! I cannot wait til April and then whenever the last book comes out. Sigh, I have no patience 🙂

3. angel - November 11, 2009

u are tot right I mean shes what just graduated high school? She had to grow up some time with or without rose.


Leave a Reply

