jump to navigation

bbaw: blog spotlight. September 14, 2009

Posted by Katie in community.
Tags:
trackback

bbawcelebratebooks

Hello all! It’s Book Blogger Appreciate Week and I’ll be celebrating books all week long on “Read What You Know.”

From the website of BBAW: “Monday September 14. The shortlists for the awards will be announced next Monday, September 7th. The first day of BBAW, Monday September 14th, we encourage you to write a post thanking and spotlighting your favorite blogs that didn’t make the shortlists.”

As a newbie blogger, I’m still diving into the book blogging world and I still boggle at the amount of blogs that I keep finding. Here’s some of the newest blogs I’ve discovered:

Anna & Jenny at Book Nerds. Two sisters, blogging about books. Most posts are Anna’s, but Jenny has her fair share too. What drew me to their blog was that they were sisters. My sister is the most important person in my life, but she doesn’t read like I do. Sisters reviewing books together immediately intrigued me. I love their reviews and the clean-cut style of their blog.

Mandy at Edge of Seventeen. Mandy works at a bookshop and we originally “met” online when I found her weekly “Ask a Bookseller” post. I love her reviews and her taste in books. She just posted an awesome page-by-page review of “The Hunger Games” which I loved reading! I think it might be one of my favorite reviews of all-time, just getting to see someone’s immediate reaction to the book.

Lauren at I Was a Teenage Book Geek. As a book blogger from across the pond, Lauren is also perptually stuck at the reading age of sixteen, much like me. I don’t remember how I stumbled across her blog, but it quickly became one of my favorites and I looked forward to updates! Lauren was also the first person to pass on a blog award to me, which really made my day.

And a newly discovered blog just this weekend: April at Good Books & Good Wine. I spent a ton of time this weekend going over her blog. I love the mix of young adult and adult reviews (because yes, I do read adult books too) and I love that April’s got a touch of snark in her posts. Looking forward to reading her posts.

My goodness, I want to just keep talking about all of the fabulous bloggers that I’ve met. I truly read every single blog on my blogroll (and even more — I just looked at my feed reader and realized I need to update the blogroll!) and want you all to know that you inspire me to keep blogging. Some of you shortlisted, some of you didn’t, all of you matter to me.

Check back tomorrow for another BBAW post!

Comments»

1. Lauren (I Was A Teenage Book Geek) - September 14, 2009

That is so sweet! Thanks for the mention. I really should have done one of these. I’m really loving how friendly the book blogging world is, and how much people’s personalities come across on their blogs. Thanks for the heads up about Edge of Seventeen, too, which I don’t think I’ve visited before.


Leave a Reply

