jump to navigation

review: “just one wish” September 9, 2009

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: ,
trackback

justonewish

Just One Wish by Janette Rallison.
Putnam Juvenile // Hardcover // 272 pages.
Reviewed from library copy.

When Annika’s little brother Jeremy is about to undergo surgery for cancer treatment, she knows that he will do better if he believes the cancer will be cured. So, she tells Jeremy a harmless white lie about a genie that will grant him two wishes — one for whatever he wants, and one wish to get better. But when Jeremy wishes for the real Teen Robin Hood to teach him archery (instead of the Teen Robin Hood doll Annika expects him to ask for), Annika makes up her mind to track down the celebrity and bring him to Jeremy if only to prove that wishes do come true.

This book was hilarious. I could not stop laughing about the situations that Annika got herself into. I mean, just picture lying about being a snake wraggler to get on set and then accidentally getting cast as an extra…comedic gold, if you ask me.

I loved the relationship between Annika and Jeremy. Another real sibling relationship. I also really liked seeing Annika battle it out with Steve (Teen Robin Hood). I know that I would have done the same thing for my little sister.

And I loved Annika’s friend Madison. I thought she was the perfect counterpart to Annika.

I did, however, have a problem with how the story was wrapped up. The ending of the story magically restores Annika’s faith in God. I liked the reality of Annika’s situation, the need to question faith after tragic circumstances. What I had a problem with was the quick and easy resolution. For such a complex problem and a complex character (she may seem light on the surface, but she isn’t), I didn’t think that an easy resolution was possible.

That aside, I did like the book. The story is fast-paced and I finished it quickly. An entertaining read that I could see finding a readership in many public libraries.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Janette Rallison

starratingstarratingstarratingstarratinghalf

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

