jump to navigation

review: “shiver” September 8, 2009

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: , ,
trackback

shiver

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater.
Scholastic // ARC // 400 pages.
Reviewed from an ARC received at ALA Annual Conference 2009.

Grace has been fascinated with the wolves at the edge of her backyard since she was a little girl, dragged into the woods and rescued by a wolf with yellow eyes. But Grace’s world changes when the wolf that rescued her appears as a human, as Sam. Amidst community concerns about recent wolf attacks, Sam and Grace fall for each other. And they have a much larger obstacle in their path — when winter comes this year, Sam will change into a wolf again for the last time, leaving Grace alone forever.

I expected a lot from “Shiver” and I was not disappointed.

My favorite part about the whole book was that the mythology was tied so closely to science. I loved that the wolves changed when it got cold. I don’t think I’ve seen anything like it in a fantasy before.

Sam was the more real character, for me. He was who I connected with, his experiences were more realistic, more believable. I had a hard time relating to Grace, but that’s probably because my parents were ridiculously involved in my life and adolescent.

I loved that Sam worked in a bookstore during the summers. I loved that he wanted to learn. I related to that. (No surprise there, I am after all, a librarian.)

The pack dynamic was so well-crafted. I really feel like I got to know all of these characters through Sam’s experiences and reflections.

I thought that the book stood up nicely as a stand-alone novel, but I will definitely be reading the sequels that are planned. “Linger” is set to release sometime in 2010. And Maggie Stiefvater has just started writing “Forever” — no release date set on that yet.

Now, I don’t normally include book trailers, but you must watch the “Shiver” trailer that Maggie Stiefvater created. It is magnificent.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Maggie Stiefvater

starratingstarratingstarratingstarratingstarratinghalf

Comments»

1. Shiver – Maggie Stiefvater « A Book Blog. Period. - March 11, 2010

[…] heart / regular rumination / violet crush / book journal / tales of a capricious reader / read what you know / presenting lenore / the eclectic book lover Possibly related posts: (automatically […]

2. No one - April 1, 2010

I expected a typical teen romance with terrible writing and a weak defencless female charactor. I was wrong. I hate Twilight, I must admit but I loved Shiver. It was different. The writing was beautiful and the charactors were deep, the whole concept was far more… believable. Now Shiver was a good book. Why don’t good books ever get enough attention? I guess beautiful writings like these just don’t cut it any more. *sigh*


Leave a Reply

