jump to navigation

in my mailbox (11). August 30, 2009

Posted by Katie in in my mailbox.
Tags:
trackback

In My Mailbox explores the contents of my “mailbox” on a weekly basis. I’ll be using this as a book and contest round-up tool to show what I’m getting ready to review. If you would like to participate and have your own “In My Mailbox” post, you can find more information here at The Story Siren.

Library Check-out

shelfdiscovery

Launched from her regular feature column Fines Lines for Jezebel.com, this spastically composed, frequently hilarious omnibus of meditations on favorite YA novels dwells mostly among the old-school titles from the late ’60s to the early ’80s much beloved by now grown-up ladies. This was the era, notes the bibliomaniacal Skurnick in her brief introduction, when books for young girls moved from being wholesome and entertaining (e.g., The Secret Garden and the Nancy Drew series) to dealing with real-life, painful issues affecting adolescence as depicted by Beverly Cleary, Lois Duncan, Judy Blume, Madeleine L’Engle and Norma Klein. Publishers Weekly

Okay, so I only got one book this week! (Unreal, right?) But all of my August pre-orders finally shipped. I’m already through “Love Is the Higher Law,” “When You Reach Me,” and “Blood Promise.” I’m midway through “Prophecy of the Sisters.”

But I wanted to kind of talk about “Shelf Discovery.” I’m on the tail edge of this age group (those are the authors I grew up with as a teen, but some others too — like Lurlene McDaniel, oh goodness), but what are the books you think will stick around to be classics?

I’ll be interested to see anyone’s answers. And I’ll be commenting on other IMM posts tomorrow because I’ve got all day plans. (Doesn’t the outside world know that Sundays are IMM days?) But I hope everyone else had an awesome book week too!

Comments»

1. Jaime - August 30, 2009

Enjoy! 1 is better then none, allows you to catch up if you need to! Enjoy!
My In My Mailbox is up Here

2. The Ravenous Reader - August 30, 2009

Oh you have had some great books this week. Blood Promise was AMAZING…ahhh…wicked good. The Prophecy of the sisters is also a good book, slow building but will implant itself in your brain and haunt you…so good

3. Rachel - August 31, 2009

I’m sorry you didn’t get more books this week. I would love to read Shelf Discovery. Classics are a must read and I’m not very good at reading them.


Leave a Reply

