jump to navigation

in my mailbox (10). August 23, 2009

Posted by Katie in in my mailbox.
Tags:
trackback

In My Mailbox explores the contents of my “mailbox” on a weekly basis. I’ll be using this as a book and contest round-up tool to show what I’m getting ready to review. If you would like to participate and have your own “In My Mailbox” post, you can find more information here at The Story Siren.

Library Check-out

purchased8-23

“The Forest of Hands and Teeth” by Carrie Ryan, and “Sea Change” by Aimee Friedman. I haven’t heard anything bad about “The Forest of Hands and Teeth,” and I know I need to read it before book-talking it (the cover will not sell itself in my library), and I’m trying to decide if I should order “Sea Change” for my YA section.

Books Purchased

immortal

“Immortal” by Gillian Shields. Mixed reviews on this book; I’ll have to read it to make my own decision!

ARCs

All in all, a very fantasy/supernatural heavy week. We’ll have to balance it out with another ALA ARC highlight, “Liar” by Justine Larbalestier.

liarcovers

(I have the original cover, but will be buying the book once it comes out in hardcover.)

loisduncan-swmf
Lastly, I just found out that Lifetime Movie Network is premiering an adaptation of Lois Duncan’s “Stranger With My Face” this next weekend coming up! I am so excited — Lois Duncan books were some of my favorite YA books as an actual YA. I’m so planning on re-reading this one sometime before I watch the movie. The blue cover is the one that my library had as a teen. I am so glad that YA covers are so much smarter now. The second cover is the reprint one that I own.

Congrats to all BBAW nominees! Hope everyone’s week was awesome!

Comments»

1. Adele - August 23, 2009

I haven’t heard much about Sea Change but it is definitely a title that has piqued my interest. Look forward to reading your thoughts on it, and the wonderfully atmospheric Forest of Hands and Teeth!

2. Book Chick City - August 23, 2009

All look great! Hope you have fun reading them all 🙂

3. Rebecca - August 23, 2009

Wicked books you got this week. The Forest of Hands and Teeth is a really good book. Hope you enjoy reading all your books.

4. Lauren (I Was A Teenage Book Geek) - August 23, 2009

Forest of Hands and Teeth is *amazing*. I also really enjoyed Sea Change, but in a lighter-read kind of way. I hope you enjoy them both.

I think I may need to reread Stranger With My Face too. I reread Locked In Time a few weeks back, and it was as good as I remembered.

5. Anna - August 23, 2009

Stranger With My Face! I’ve actually been thinking about reading that once I saw the previews for it on Lifetime. I love Alexz Johnson (actress of main character in the movie), so I hope it’s a good one! I also hope you enjoy your books!

6. Marie - August 23, 2009

Sea Change sounds REALLY good!

7. LIzzy - August 23, 2009

Loved, loved, loved The Forest of Hands and Teeth. I usually strongly dislike zombies, but this book was amazing! Happy reading

8. Michelle - August 23, 2009

Great titles! I already read Immortal and I like it a lot. Happy Reading!

Peace
Michelle

9. Mandy - August 23, 2009

Sea Change has such a beautiful cover! And the older Lois Duncan cover is kind of awesome in a way. But, yes, the new edition is better! Have a great reading week.

10. Jenny - August 24, 2009

Ooh, Liar looks good. I’m looking forward to that one!

11. Sarah H - August 27, 2009

I am really interested in what you think of Forest of Hands and Teeth. Make sure to post a review!


Leave a Reply

