jump to navigation

review: “catching fire” August 16, 2009

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

[Please run away if you haven’t read “The Hunger Games!” There will be spoilers in the review for the first book.]

catchingfire

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins.
Scholastic // ARC // 400 pages.
Reviewed from an ARC, received through ALA Annual Conference 2009.

No one thought Katniss Everdeen would walk away alive from The Hunger Games, especially not with fellow tribute Peeta Mellark. But now they have caught the eye of The Capitol. And a government known for creating The Hunger Games in the first place is rarely known as a forgiving government. They are known for revenge. As Katniss is thrown into more unexpected circumstances, she fights to figure out who she is and to remain true to herself.

I loved this book. I am dying to talk about it. I cannot wait until it comes out and I won’t have to worry about spoiling people. This book made my jaw drop. I cried. I flailed. And you can bet that I pouted when I turned the last page and discovered there weren’t any more words. Furthermore, you can understand that I also squealed and immediately re-read the entire book.

I’m having a hard time saying all the things I want to because there are huge twists and turns in this book that I can’t imagine talking about until everyone else has read it.

That being said, I loved where this book took characters that we’ve already established, I loved the sense of immediacy and urgency that Collins builds for her readers, I loved revisiting The Hunger Games (and this whole world) under different circumstances.

This book ends on a horrible cliffhanger. I am already dying for the next book in the series and we don’t have a name, release date, or cover for it. That’s really the only downside in this amazing book.

Pre-order it now if you haven’t and expect long lines at your library. The sophomore slump does not exist. Not in Suzanne Collins’s world.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Suzanne Collins

starratingstarratingstarratingstarratingstarrating

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

