jump to navigation

review: “blue moon” August 10, 2009

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: ,
trackback

bluemoon

Blue Moon by Alyson Noel.
St. Martin’s Griffin // Paperback // 304 pages.
Reviewed from purchased copy.

Newly immortal Ever is struggling to get a grip on her powers. As her powers increase, her immortal boyfriend, Damen’s seem to be slipping away. More and more, Damen must rely on immortal juice to get through his lessons with Ever. But when Damen experiences a change of heart and begins to treat Ever like an outcast, she knows that something more is wrong with him. It’s a race against time to find out exactly what is plaguing Damen and Ever will use every resource she can…even if it means going to Summerland, the mysterious land of the dead and of the immortals.

As much as I like the mythology of this series and the ideas behind it, I’m starting to grow a little tired with Ever’s choices. It is so hard watching her make mistake after mistake. I don’t know if that’s my own issue because I’m an adult or if teens are also reacting this way. The library’s copy of this book hasn’t come in yet, so I haven’t gotten a teen opinion yet.

However, I did like that Ever had to figure things out for herself in this novel. I really felt like Noel ripped away all of her support system — friends, Damen, even her aunt. The mistakes that she makes are really her own. So, I guess that’s the bright side of Ever’s immaturity.

I’m not sure how I feel about the twisty ending. As I was reading, I was caught up in it and definitely let out a squeal at the cliffhanger. Now that I’ve had some time to reflect on the ending though, I am thoroughly intrigued. How this will play out in “Shadowland” will be very interesting to say the least.

I’ll definitely be checking out the third and final installment in the series. I’ll save my final judgment until then.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Alyson Noel

starratingstarratingstarratingstarratinghalf

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

