jump to navigation

in my mailbox (8). August 8, 2009

Posted by Katie in in my mailbox.
Tags:
trackback

In My Mailbox explores the contents of my “mailbox” on a weekly basis. I’ll be using this as a book and contest round-up tool to show what I’m getting ready to review. If you would like to participate and have your own “In My Mailbox” post, you can find more information here at The Story Siren.

Library Check-out

thechosenone

The Chosen One
By: Carol Lynch Williams

Taking a story “ripped from the headlines,” Williams looks inside a polygamist cult and the dangers it poses for one girl. Kyra and her father, three mothers, and 20 siblings live in an isolated community under the thumb of a prophet, who controls every aspect of his apostles’ lives. The most shocking intrusion of all comes when the prophet decrees that Kyra is to become the wife of her 60-year-old uncle. A secret patron of a local mobile library, Kyra knows there’s a world away from the compound she might escape to, but first she pins her hopes on her father’s ability to change the prophet’s mind. Instead, her family is threatened, and the stakes for her refusal to marry are raised. Booklist

(I’m so anxious already to read this one. I’ve heard great things about it from other librarians and bloggers!)

Books Purchased

pradaandprejudice

Prada and Prejudice
By: Mandy Hubbard

To impress the popular girls on a high school trip to London, klutzy Callie buys real Prada heels. But trying them on, she trips…conks her head…and wakes up in the year 1815!

There Callie meets Emily, who takes her in, mistaking her for a long-lost friend. As she spends time with Emily’s family, Callie warms to them—particularly to Emily’s cousin Alex, a hottie and a duke, if a tad arrogant.

But can Callie save Emily from a dire engagement, and win Alex’s heart, before her time in the past is up? Amazon.com

(I figured after “The Chosen One,” I could use some light reading.)

ARCs

Came on Wednesday!

oncewaslost

Once Was Lost
By: Sara Zarr

Samara Taylor used to believe in miracles. She used to believe in a lot of things. As a pastor’s kid, it’s hard not to buy in to the idea of the perfect family, a loving God, and amazing grace. But lately, Sam has a lot of reason to doubt. Her mother lands in rehab after a DUI and her father seems more interested in his congregation than his family. When a young girl in her small town is kidnapped, the local tragedy overlaps with Sam’s personal one, and the already-worn thread of faith holding her together begins to unravel. Amazon.com

(Really excited about this one. Thanks to Little, Brown for sending it my way!)

Hope everyone else had an awesome mailbox this week!

Comments»

1. Kate - August 8, 2009

Nice week. I am really wanting to read Prada & Prejudice. Happy reading.

2. Michelle - August 8, 2009

I want to read Once was Lost, hope you like it. Happy Reading!

Peace
Michelle

3. Rebecca - August 8, 2009

Great books you got this week, they all sound really good. hope you enjoy reading them all.

4. Lauren (I Was A Teenage Book Geek) - August 9, 2009

That Sara Zarr one looks great. Enjoy!

5. Lexie C. - August 9, 2009

Prada and Prejudice is a really good book–its fun and quirky. The Chosen One looks interesting, but I’m not honestly sure if I would enjoy it. Not my usual fare you know?

6. Shalonda - August 9, 2009

All 3 of those sound amazing!

7. Lizzy - August 9, 2009

I’ve got Prada and Prejudice, I just haven’t had a chance to read it yet. Hope you enjoy your books!

8. Yan - August 9, 2009

I really hope you’ll enjoy the Chosen One!

9. The Ravenous Reader - August 9, 2009

You had a great week. These are all books that I have, but have yet to read them. Enjoy your reads 🙂

10. Kelli - August 9, 2009

Once Was Lost sounds interesting
Happy reading!

11. Briana - August 9, 2009

I love, love, love the cover of Once Was Lost! It’s fantastic 🙂

12. Book Chick City - August 10, 2009

All your books look great. Have fun reading them! 🙂


Leave a Reply

