jump to navigation

review: “wings” August 6, 2009

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: ,
trackback

wings

Wings by Aprilynne Pike.
HarperTeen // Hardcover // 304 pages.
Reviewed from library copy.

Laurel’s just moved in to a new town and her parents have decided to stop home-schooling her, sending her instead to the local high school. Just after Laurel starts to get used to her life, and to her new friend David, she gets what she thinks is a zit on her back. A zit that…blossoms into a flower. Not knowing what to do, Laurel hides the wing-like flower, only showing David who immediately approaches the situation from a scientist’s perspective. As they struggle to understand Laurel’s wings, Laurel’s past bubbles up and after a visit to her home, everything changes all over again.

I have to say, I went into this book with high expectations (I had heard nothing but good things about it) and was mildly disappointed by the beginning of the book. Then, the middle hit and I was so caught up in the mythology of the story that before I knew, I had already turned the last page.

I’m not sure how I feel about Laurel as a character still. I liked David more than her, but I suspect that readers have only begun to see Laurel’s development (Pike has four books planned in the series) as a character. Towards the end of the book, I was so impressed by her that I almost forgave the slow start. Almost.

The discovery of Laurel’s wings and subsequent discovery of being a faerie were no shock to me; I had guessed from the title that she had to be a faerie and confirmed it for myself shortly after she was revealed to be a vegetarian/fruitarian/no artificial products eater. What makes this book truly unique is why, as a faerie, Laurel has a blossom for wings. I’ll leave that discovery for those who want to read the book.

I do recommend this book, particularly for tweens/teens who want to read the dark urban faerie tales (like “Tithe” and “Wicked Lovely”) but aren’t ready for the urban setting. Additionally, Miley Cyrus has just been attached to the movie version of the book. Plan on having several copies in your library.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Aprilynne Pike

starratingstarratingstarratingstarrating

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

