jump to navigation

book blogger appreciation week. August 3, 2009

Posted by Katie in community.
Tags:
trackback

I’ve signed up to participate in Book Blogger Appreciation Week, although I’m not sure what to expect. Especially since I’m such a new blogger. But at least I’ll participate and get a year under my belt. So, they’re asked us to do a little meme, which is as follows:

1) What has been one of the highlights of blogging for you?

The highlight for me is the main reason that I got involved in book reviewing/blogging — it’s the community. Just simply being able to virtually hang out with people who care about YA books like I do is such an amazing gift. It sounds really corny, but sometimes I think being a book lover can be really lonely, particularly if you don’t have someone to share it with. Additionally, I know the reviews that I’m doing are connecting people to books and as a librarian, that is my life’s passion. So book blogging just came naturally.

2) What blogger has helped you out with your blog by answering questions, linking to you, or inspiring you?

Well, I started blogging because a couple of my non-blogger friends said that they needed a good YA review blog. I did some investigating and found Kristi at The Story Siren and passed on the link to my friends. That was my intro to the blogging world. One “In My Mailbox” post later, I had half a dozen blogs on my RSS feeder. From there, I decided to jump in after my friend Sarah at Awesome Storytime told me about the 48 Hour Book Challenge.

3) What one question do you have about BBAW that someone who participated last year could answer?

What’s the one thing I should make sure to do to have a positive experience? (And also, how much time did you spend on BBAW?) Okay, so two questions. But an easy one and a hard one.

Comments»

1. Lezlie - August 5, 2009

There are so many activities going on during BBAW, try not to let it overwhelm you. There’s no way to do it all. Just go with what feels like fun!

Lezlie

2. Bookjourney - August 6, 2009

I am new to this as well this year and I am busy trying to plan what fun activity I can have going on at my blog…. must order ice sculptures…LOL

I look forward to seeing more of your blog posts!

3. Debbie - August 14, 2009

I started going through the links for the BBAW Meme and stumbled across your blog. It looks great!

4. Red Headed Book Child - August 25, 2009

I am brand new to blogging and found your blog through the BBAW meme as well.
I am also a huge YA fan!
I look forward to following you.


Leave a Reply

