jump to navigation

review: “once a witch” July 30, 2009

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: ,
trackback

onceawitch

Once a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough
Clarion // ARC // 304 pages.
Reviewed from an ARC received at ALA’s Annual Convention 2009.

Seventeen year old Tamsin Greene is an outcast in her family. After coming from a long line of Talented witches, Tamsin’s powers have never shown themselves. So, instead Tamsin has escaped to a boarding school in Manhattan, only returning home to man the family bookstore during the summer. But when a mysterious stranger stops in at the bookstore and needs the help of Tamsin’s older sister Rowena, Tamsin pretends to be Rowena and offers her own help.

Lucky me, I was able to snag a copy of this book at ALA. I had heard about it months ago and have seriously been on the edge of my seat waiting for it. It was worth the wait.

I loved this book. I felt like the family relationships were very real and that Tamsin was an awesome character. I really felt for her and sympathized with her situation. She is such a real character, although I think she comes off as a little bit older than seventeen, but that didn’t bother me.

The supporting characters (particularly Tamsin’s family members) were also fleshed out and believable and teens will fall in love with Gabriel, Tamsin’s childhood friend.

I was able to figure things out a little bit faster than Tamsin, but that’s okay. After all, I’m 25. But this was such a fast, enjoyable read that it didn’t even bother me that I guessed the ending. I will warn readers that this book does end on a cliffhanger and I unfortunately don’t know if the author has been signed for a series or trilogy or not. I sure hope so.

This book has a little romance, as well as several mysteries. I think that the book will appeal to a large audience because of this. Definitely buying it for my library. My teens will eat it up.

Amazon
SWAN Catalog
Carolyn MacCullough
Once a Witch

starratingstarratingstarratingstarratingstarrating

Comments»

1. Bookjourney - August 6, 2009

AND another reason to go to ALA…LOL


Leave a Reply

