jump to navigation

ala wrap-up 3. July 20, 2009

Posted by Katie in shoptalk.
Tags:
trackback

And now, the final installment of ALA wrap-up. Only a week after it happened!

I started Monday at “Sex in YA Literature,” a panel discussion on exactly what it sounds like. Unfortunately, I had to leave the panel earlier than I wanted to because the exhibits opened and I promised to help my librarian friend navigate her first time through the exhibits. (For those of you who haven’t been to the exhibits, they can be ridiculously overwhelming. Seriously.)

So, I snagged some more ARCs and managed to walk away with a galley of Ally Carter’s newest book “Heist Society.” (Yes, I’ve already read it. Yes, it’s fabulous! Yes, there’s a non-spoiler review coming along.)

After that, I spent my morning hanging out at Little, Brown for a trio of author signings: Sarah Ockler, Justina Chen Headley, and Malinda Lo.

For the first time at ALA, I didn’t feel as awkward about meeting authors. I think I had finally gotten used to. I had asked the stupid question (Sarah Dessen), I had brought up the appropriate conversation, yet made it awkward (Lauren Myracle), and I had cried (Judy Blume). Seemed like there was nothing left to do, but be human!

Talked to Sarah Ockler about looking for sea glass as a kid and let her know that my teens refuse to let her book touch the shelves, they just keep checking it out. (Sarah signed two books — one for me, and one for my teens. Little, Brown was giving away hardcover copies of Twenty Boy Summer, but I had also brought my copy from home. I always want authors to sign the copies that I’ve read. That’s important to me.)

100_1911

After a break, we got back in line for Justina Chen Headley. I was very lucky in that another librarian/blogger/exhibitor gave me a dollar to purchase a book (I never carry cash anymore, as a safety precaution) so I did get a signed book! Thank you, kind person, should you happen to come across this post somehow! Another break (and update in the Internet room) and we got in line for Malinda Lo’s signing.

Where I ran into two other bloggers: Kristen of Bookworming in the 21st Century and Drea of Book Blather. We kept each other company while waiting (somewhat) patiently.

me-malindalo
(From Malinda Lo’s website. Her fabulous publicist getting the books ready for the signing. I’m the one in the red, cheerfully smiling, even though I was unaware we were being photographed.)

After that, a fun lunch with Drea and Kathleen (my librarian friend), followed by the YALSA Board Meeting, President Program, Odyssey Award Presentation. A break for food and travel and then the Printz Reception.

Where I asked Melina Marchetta (the award winner) if she had a ticket. (::facepalm::) And then proceeded to greet Libba Bray at the door, still holding back my whole “The Sweet Far Thing” rant. All in all, I was exhausted and skipped the reception after the award, instead opting for home.

Still, I walked away with another load of ARCS including:

  • Alphas by Lisi Harrison
  • The Well by A.J. Whitten
  • Break by Hannah Moskowitz
  • Posh and Prejudice by Grace Dent
  • Happyface by Stephen Emond
  • Soulstice by Simon Holt
  • The Other Side of Blue by Valerie O. Patterson
  • Crashed by Robin Wasserman
  • Once a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough
  • Ash by Malinda Lo
  • Heist Society by Ally Carter

And that wraps up ALA for me. I’m getting ready to volunteer for some more committee work for YALSA, I’m just deciding where to volunteer. But, I know I’ll be going to Annual next year in Washington, D.C. and I couldn’t be more excited already!

Comments»

1. Sarah - July 21, 2009

Ok, I was at Sex in YA Lit too but ducked out early to head to the exhbits as well yet I somehow missed the Hiest Society ARC. I even stopped by the Disney Hyperion booth and talked to the reps there and she told me about it. How’d that happen??? You’re just super lucky I guess. I went to all those same signings too, so I don’t know how I mangaged to miss you!
Lucky you got to go to all the dinner/award stuff-I didn’t get to do any of that, or any of the special brunches, which I would love to figure out how to get invited to!

readwhatyouknow - July 23, 2009

I must have just got there right before you! I talked to the reps too, they seemed super excited about the new series. I told them how I’ve had to replace the Gallagher Girl books several times in my library because of wear/theft.

I have no idea how we missed each other either! Did you hear that Kristi (The Story Siren) and Drea (Book Blather) are trying to organize a Midwest blogger meet-up?

To go to the dinners & award presentations, you just needed to pay money. I was lucky because I required to go for committee, which meant I had a free ticket. Otherwise, I would have spent something like $200.


Leave a Reply

