jump to navigation

in my mailbox (5) July 19, 2009

Posted by Katie in in my mailbox.
Tags:
trackback

In My Mailbox explores the contents of my “mailbox” on a weekly basis. I’ll be using this as a book and contest round-up tool to show what I’m getting ready to review. If you would like to participate and have your own “In My Mailbox” post, you can find more information here at The Story Siren.

Library Check-out

I have a small pile of library books still out, but they’ve all been featured in previous “In My Mailbox” posts. So, no updates here this week.

Books Purchased

purchased4

Birthday presents! I got Lament by Maggie Stiefvater, Eyes Like Stars by Lisa Mantchev, and Blue Moon by Alyson Noel.

ARCs

I got a ton of ARCs at ALA this weekend. You can read my updates on the blog ALA Wrap-Up 1 and ALA Wrap-Up 2.

I still have one more day to write up, but my favorites from Monday were:

onceawitch

Once a Witch
By: Carolyn MacCullough

Tamsin Greene comes from a long line of witches, and she was supposed to be one of the most Talented among them. But Tamsin’s magic never showed up. Now seventeen, Tamsin attends boarding school in Manhattan, far from her family. But when a handsome young professor mistakes her for her very Talented sister, Tamsin agrees to find a lost family heirloom for him. The search and the stranger will prove to be more sinister than they first appeared, ultimately sending Tamsin on a treasure hunt through time that will unlock the secret of her true identity, unearth the sins of her family, and unleash a power so vengeful that it could destroy them all. Amazon.com

ash

Ash
By: Malinda Lo

In the wake of her father’s death, Ash is left at the mercy of her cruel stepmother. Consumed with grief, her only joy comes by the light of the dying hearth fire, rereading the fairy tales her mother once told her. In her dreams, someday the fairies will steal her away, as they are said to do. When she meets the dark and dangerous fairy Sidhean, she believes that her wish may be granted.

The day that Ash meets Kaisa, the King’s Huntress, her heart begins to change. Instead of chasing fairies, Ash learns to hunt with Kaisa. Though their friendship is as delicate as a new bloom, it reawakens Ash’s capacity for love-and her desire to live. But Sidhean has already claimed Ash for his own, and she must make a choice between fairy tale dreams and true love. Amazon.com

And that’s it for me this week. Got a lot more ARCs to get through and a lot more reviews all set to post throughout the week.

Comments»

1. Rebecca - July 19, 2009

Great books you got. Once a Witch sounds really really good. Enjoy.

2. Michelle - July 19, 2009

Good titles! I’m looking FW to read Once a Witch. Happy Readings!

Peace
Michelle

3. The Book Explorer - July 19, 2009

Oooh. Jealousy!

Once a Witch was this past WoW for me!

I really want to read Ash as well!

Enjoy your books!

<33

4. Lizzy - July 19, 2009

Oh I’m jealous (ALA sounds like it was a lot of fun). Once a Witch looks really good, and I can’t wait to read Eyes Like Stars (it’s in my huge piles of books that I’ve purchased and haven’t had time to read yet). Happy reading!


Leave a Reply

