jump to navigation

review: “fairy tale” July 18, 2009

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags:
trackback

fairytale

Fairy Tale by Cyn Balog.
Delacorte // Hardcover // 256 pages.
Reviewed from purchased copy.

Meet Morgan Sparks, average teenage girl with average teenager boyfriend Cam. Or so you think. When a mysterious set of strangers come, everything changes for both Morgan and Cam. Now, they’ve got fairies trying to tear them apart because Cam is the only heir to the throne of fairy after his brother has passed away. Together, they vow to fool the fairies and keep Cam in the human world. Can they pull this charade off? Or will the fairies win, stealing Cam from Morgan forever?

Okay, let me first say that fairies/faeries/fae are the newest craze in teen literature and I, for one, cannot be happier about that. I’ve always loved supernatural books, but fairies and vampires top the list. After watching vampires get their fair share, I’m thrilled to see fairies in the limelight now.

I really liked the differences in “Fairy Tale” from other fairy/faerie books. I liked that Morgan was the normal teenager (albeit, with some supernatural abilities of her own), and that a boy found out he was a fairy for once. I liked the light-hearted tone of a lot of the book — even when things are down for the count, I felt like the story was never doomed. And I really liked how the story found its resolution.

I love Pip. And I really had a lot of issues with Cam. I realize that he was going through a big change/transformation/ordeal, but I didn’t appreciate the way that he treated Morgan, especially since she was also going through a similar ordeal. If it hadn’t been for Pip, I don’t think I would have enjoyed the book as much as I did.

But my largest issue with this book is that the ending seemed very sudden to me. I saw a lot of it coming, but at the same time, I felt like the resolution should have lasted at least another twenty pages or so. Well, at least, I wanted to see more of the after!

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Cyn Balog

starratingstarratingstarratingstarrating

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

