jump to navigation

ala annual, here i come! July 4, 2009

Posted by Katie in shoptalk.
Tags:
trackback

annual2009logo

I’ve seen a lot of posts about upcoming plans for ALA Annual and I’m excited to see that a lot of other YA book bloggers will be going. ALA Annual is the American Library Association’s annual conference. It’s held in rotating cities every year (usually in June, except in Chicago when we have to be considerate of the Taste of Chicago’s schedule) and it’s a chance for librarians to meet up face-to-face to talk about current issues and trends in the library world. It’s also a time when vendors, booksellers, and authors gather to meet up with librarians.

It’s great fun! I had the opportunity to go last year in Anaheim in preparation for this year’s conference where I’m serving on the Local Arrangements Committee. Basically, we’re local librarians and we are serving as hosts/hostesses to welcome librarians and other conference attendees to Chicago. My schedule is tight because of this, but I am so excited about ALA Annual. Tons of friends, tons of new experiences and people to meet, and of course, tons of new books and authors to hear about!

And…Saturday is my birthday. And Anderson’s Bookstore, an amazing *amazing* bookstore, is hosting Laurie Halse Anderson and Sarah Dessen that night. I’ve already decided that’s the best 25th birthday present ever.

Needless to say, I can’t wait for Annual! Stay tuned for updates about the conference and maybe even some contests for ARCs.

Comments»

1. skth - July 7, 2009

Yay! What could be a better birthday present than getting to see Laurie Halse Anderson AND Sarah Dessen?!


Leave a comment