jump to navigation

review: “keeping the moon” June 24, 2009

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: , ,
trackback

keepingthemoon

Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen.
Speak // Paperback // 240 pages.
Reviewed from purchased copy.

While Colie’s fitness guru mother is out touring Europe, Colie is sent to live with her eccentric Aunt Mira. Aunt Mira is a pack rat, an artist, and definitely does not follow her sister’s fitness plans. Colie feels out of place in her new surroundings…that is, until she stumbles onto the Last Chance Diner. Finding a job and possible friends, Colie begins to reevaluate her life and exactly what it means to be beautiful and happy.

Sarah Dessen is one of my favorite authors ever. In fact, when she was looking for an assistant a few years back, I considered applying and picking up my life to move cross-country if I got the job. (I didn’t. I couldn’t bear the thought of leaving my teens. Instead, I just book-talk her books as often as I can!) So, I have to clarify that this review may be a bit biased.

However, I loved this book. And it was a perfect primer for “Along for the Ride,” Dessen’s latest release, but I’ll go into more details about that when I review “Along for the Ride.” But compared to the more recent Dessen books, it doesn’t stand up to “The Truth About Forever” or “Just Listen.”

Colie is a pretty angry narrator, with good reason. She has never fit for a variety of reasons: body image, her mistaken reputation, and her lack of confidence. I easily related to her character and was so pleased when she began to come out of her shell thanks to Morgan and Isabel.

Dessen’s books all take place in Lakeview/Colby, and many of the characters cross over from one book to another. I love this aspect of the books and spend a lot of my time re-reading the books to catch new crossovers, even though there is a fairly thorough Wikipedia article that outlines all the crossovers.

A great summer read and a book that many of my chick lit readers will eagerly scoop up.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Sarah Dessen

starratingstarratingstarratingstarrating

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

