jump to navigation

a flurry of announcements. April 14, 2010

Posted by Katie in shoptalk.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

In lieu of an apology post for not updating more recently, I’ll just run down a catch-up of what’s been going on in my life/blog these past few weeks!

Nerds Heart YA

I’m really excited to be a bracket judge this year for “Nerds Heart YA.” This is a bracket-style competition to recognize under-appreciated/unknown YA books released the previous year. For this year, the books nominated (nominations are over) had to feature characters or were penned by authors in the following categories: Person(s) of Color (POC), GLBT, Disability/Mental Illness, Religious Lifestyle, or Lower Socioeconomic Status. Stay tuned here for my post or check out Nerds Heart YA for more info.

Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon

I completely slacked this time on the 24-hour read-a-thon. Didn’t post my start post, had to work during the time, wound up having to go car shopping right after work, and only put away four books. Thanks, as always, to the organizers of the event and to the cheerleaders who still commented even though my blog looked a bit dead!

Read: “The Sky Is Everywhere” by Jandy Nelson, “Are You There God, It’s Me Margaret” by Judy Blume, “The Daughters” by Joanna Philbin, and “The Reckoning” by Kelley Armstrong. Page count: 1103. Reviews to come.

John Green and David Levithan

Last Tuesday night, I had the pleasure of going and seeing both authors on the release day of “Will Grayson, Will Grayson.” It was a great signing — John and David both read from WGWG, answered questions, and talked about the process of writing the book. I laughed so hard that my stomach hurt. And it is definitely worth noting that there was a Stormtrooper in attendance. Also worth noting was meeting up with Drea and Kristen — it is always awesome to see friends!

The Very Hungry Caterpillar

Yes, that is a “Very Hungry Caterpillar” feltboard. I made that at work this past week for my Eric Carle preschool program next month. I just had to show it off!

National Poetry Month

And my attempt at celebrating National Poetry Month at my Teen Book Display!

So, all in all, a busy few weeks at work (we were on spring break too!), but I should be back into the blogging swing now.

Comments»

1. Sarah - April 14, 2010

Your feltboard is cute!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

