jump to navigation

review: “how i found the perfect dress” October 26, 2009

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: , ,
trackback

howifoundtheperfectdress

Why I Let My Hair Grow Out by Maryrose Wood.
Berkley Trade // Paperback // 240 pages.
Reviewed from purchased copy.

Spoilers for book one! If you haven’t read it, duck out now.

Okay, are we safe?

Here goes.

Morgan Rawlinson is back in the US after spending a summer biking across Ireland. Of course, that’s not all that she did. She also managed to fall for Colin, save some faeries, and discover that she’s actually a half-goddess. But planning the junior prom is turning out to be boring. Until Colin shows up, exhausted and unable to sleep. Morgan quickly discovers that Colin is being kept awake at night, summoned to dance for the faeries. Determined to save him (and have him as her date for prom!), Morgan sets out against all obstacles.

This book was just as fun as the first book. I spent a lot of my time laughing and getting weird looks from my sister.

I loved that Morgan was off to save Colin, and I liked a lot of the twists that the storyline took her through on her quest. Readers will get to meet more mythological creatures in this book. More is also revealed about Morgan’s heritage, that is so cool and awesome I don’t want to spoil it for you.

I was really happy to get to spend more time with Morgan’s family, particularly her little sister. (Okay, so I have a soft spot for little sisters.) I thought their interactions really helped me to understand Morgan even better in this book. And it was nice to see Morgan in her home element.

Even though I understand the reasoning behind her decision, I was frustrated that Morgan didn’t tell Colin about what was going on. (Colin is anti-faerie…meaning he’s a non-believer.) I really hope that this will be addressed in the last book (coming out in December!) because I think Colin needs to know if he and Morgan will ever have a true relationship.

Another solid read, definitely on par with the first book.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Maryrose Wood

starratingstarratingstarratingstarratinghalf

Comments»

1. Erica - October 30, 2009

I really want to read these. I love the cover work for all 3 of the books about Morgan – they’re stunning.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

