jump to navigation

review: “psych major syndrome” October 13, 2009

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags: ,
trackback

psychmajorsyndrome

Psych Major Syndrome by Alicia Thompson.
Hyperion // Hardcover // 336 pages.
Reviewed from purchased copy.

Leigh Nolan might come from a family of psychics, but she’s firmly rooted in the real world. She’s escaped to college with her boyfriend, Andrew, to study psychology. But not everything is going according to Leigh’s plan. Andrew is becoming distant, Andrew’s roommate Nathan hates her, and she stuck working this mentor program at a local high school with the snobbiest student in the psychology department. Leigh may be learning how to solve people’s problems, but she’s not very good at solving her own.

Let me be the first to say just how pleased I am that YA authors are writing books about college students. I feel like this is an age that just isn’t served by adult books or YA books, an age just caught in the middle of the bookosphere.

This book is spot-on about college life, it took me straight back to university and to being a psych minor. I related completely to Leigh’s confusion, to her plans falling apart and to her struggle to make new plans and new relationships.

I was worried that the book might be too old for my younger teens or that they might not be able to relate to Leigh because of the college setting. And then I met Nathan who is a totally awesome guy and I think, the best part about the book. He’s definitely going to suck in the younger teens.

The details in Leigh’s world also serve to anchor the story. I loved her car. I too drive a clunker! Her parents and roommate may be a bit stereotypical, but I liked them enough. (Leigh’s visit home for Thanksgiving was really funny, with a few surprises in store.)

My main issue with the book was that I didn’t feel like college life was fully formed. Leigh has only one paper for her class? Really? I had one paper for a class once. It had to be fifty pages. And even then, we had to have our outline, annotated bibliography, a rough draft, etc. all turned in along the semester.

Bottom line? A sweet, fluffy romance novel that I really enjoyed.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Alicia Thompson MySpace

starratingstarratingstarratingstarrating

Comments»

1. Lauren (I Was A Teenage Book Geek) - October 14, 2009

I like the sound of this, because I’ve rarely read any books about that exact age group / life stage. Interesting choice!

2. kelly - October 14, 2009

I kind of liked this one, too. One that I think older high school and early college kids would just “get.” Leigh was a bit flat as a character but this was Thompson’s first book, giving me hope she’ll get reaaaally good. I’m impressed it’s her first book at age 26.

3. kelly - October 14, 2009

By that I mean, she published it to good pubilicity through Hyperion at age 26!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

