jump to navigation

banned books week 2009 September 27, 2009

Posted by Katie in library work.
Tags:
trackback

bbw2009

Banned Books Week is a topic near and dear to my heart. I was fortunate enough to have parents who encouraged my reading, no matter what it was I was reading. They let me read Sweet Valley High, Anne Rice, and Sue Grafton books in high school. When I got really into “Buffy the Vampire Slayer,” I read a ton of history books on vampires and witchcraft at my local library. They didn’t mind if was reading “trashy” novels or adult books or non-fiction books that didn’t mesh with our religion — they just liked the fact that I was reading.

I’ve been planning to celebrate on the blog for a long while. This week will feature some reviews of books, some discussion, and some pictures of my library’s YA display.

In the meantime, some resources for you to peruse:

And some bloggers that are also celebrating Banned Books Week on their blogs:

Lemme know if you’re celebrating and how, I’ll link your blog! And be sure to check back this week for more Banned Books Week celebrations!

Comments»

1. Kourtnie McKenzie » Banned Books Week 2009 - September 28, 2009

[...] Banned Books Week yourself by blogging about it and sharing it on Bloggers Unite. WordPress users are writing all [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

