jump to navigation

review: “sea change” September 23, 2009

Posted by Katie in reviews.
Tags:
trackback

seachange

Sea Change by Aimee Friedman.
Point // Hardcover // 320 pages.
Reviewed from library copy.

Miranda hadn’t planned on spending her summer on mysterious, legendary Selkie Island. But after getting an ex-boyfriend and an ex-best friend, she’s happy to accompany her mother to help clean out her grandmother’s estate. Selkie Island is the playground for the rich, and Miranda is surprised to find out that her family has a long society history, making Miranda an instant A-lister. But Miranda’s always been more interested in science than shoes. And when a trip to the local science center introduces her to Leo, Miranda’s summer will never be the same.

I really adored this book. I love Aimee Friedman’s writing — “The Year My Sister Got Lucky” was one of my favorite books last year.

Miranda is a vivid character, determined and smart. She’s also a teenager, which means she’s confused and thrown after doing research into the island’s history and origins. Not to mention her confusion over Leo and his origins.

The supporting characters in the book are mostly well-developed, but some do fall flat to stereotypical behavior. The island itself is a remarkable character, coming alive as Miranda explores all of its nooks and crannies. The historic background of Miranda’s grandmother is one of my favorite parts of the novel. I loved how Miranda was an echo of her grandmother.

I had a few minor problems with the novel. The major one being, of course, that Friedman never comes out and says the word “mermaid/merman” about Leo. There’s plenty of anvil-sized hints, definitely enough for the reader to come to their own conclusions about Leo, so I don’t think that will cause readers to dislike the book. But I know that I was waiting for the confirmation scene.

Great, solid read. I thoroughly enjoyed catching it over the summer, perfect for those summer months. I’ve already purchased a copy for the library, and will be purchasing my own copy in hardback.

Amazon
SWAN catalog
Aimee Friedman

starratingstarratingstarratingstarratingstarratinghalf

Comments»

1. Lauren (I Was A Teenage Book Geek) - September 23, 2009

Interesting review. I did really like this one, but have to agree about some of the supporting characters being a little stereotypical, now I come to think about it.

2. Aimee Friedman - September 23, 2009

Thank you so much for the thoughtful and great review! So glad you enjoyed the book.
Best,
Aimee

3. Ivy - May 2, 2010

I really love it


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

