jump to navigation

bbaw: reading meme September 15, 2009

Posted by Katie in community.
Tags:
trackback

bbawcelebratebooks

Welcome to the third day of Book Blogger Appreciation Week!

Today, we were prompted to complete a reading meme! From the website: “We encourage you to be creative with this! Please choose one or two questions to answer or try to answer all the questions in five words or less.”

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack?

Diet Coke – my blogging fuel.

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?

Useful, but not my taste.

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears?

I remember the page number.

Laying the book flat open?

Read balanced in one hand.

Fiction, Non-fiction, or both?

Both, more fiction though.

Hard copy or audiobooks?

Hard copy. No CD Player.

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point?

Any point.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?

Nope, use context.

What are you currently reading?

“Rampant” by Diana Peterfreund.

What is the last book you bought?

Five. See “IMM #13.”

Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time?

One at a time.

Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read?

Anytime, anyplace.

[Okay, I’m going to answer the last three in longer answers. Because I can.]

Do you prefer series books or stand alone books?

I tend to get into moods where I want a series or a stand-alone. I’m frustrated right now that fantasy (my favorite genre) is making everything into series/leaving stand-alones open for a series. Not everything can be capitalized (::cough “Twilight” cough::), and some books are not meant to be a series. Of course, I sometimes do want more.

Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over?

Lately, it’s been “The Hunger Games.” I told my teen book club tonight that we’d be reading it as a club when it came out in paperback (does anyone have a paperback release date?), no need to vote on it — it was my pick. They looked at me and said, “It must be the best book ever written.” (I never force them to read books, I prefer to let them have the decision making in club. So, it’s a rarity that I take control like that. And I showed them my mockingjay pin. They loved it.)

How do you organize your books? (By genre, title, author’s last name, etc.?)

Right now, by however I can fit more books in a shelf. One day, I’ll be able to separate them into YA sections and adult sections, and then alphabetically. Additionally, I want a separate series bookcase! I’ve given a lot of thought about this, can you tell?

And that’s it! Go check out everyone else’s memes!

Comments»

1. historyofshe - September 16, 2009

Yay for making your book club read The Hunger Games! :D

2. Deanna/ibeeeg - September 16, 2009

Wow…I am impressed that you can remember the page number. Not me…out of sight, out of mind is my mind mode these days of late.

3. Rasco from RIF - September 16, 2009

Diet Coke, Diet Coke, Diet Coke and reading!

4. Trisha - September 16, 2009

I have quite a few bookshelves and while they are semi-organized, I still can’t just walk up to them and grab a book – mainly because I keep buying more and tossing them in the appropriate area, but not actually in a thought out place. I too am waiting for that special day when the home library will be organized. I completed my quick list in pictures.

5. Maree - September 16, 2009

Great answers. I totally missed the word count!

6. Ana O. - September 16, 2009

I’m addicted to Diet Coke too! Sigh!

7. Belle - September 16, 2009

I’m so impressed – I’ve tried remembering the page number but usually can’t. Sometimes when I’m listening to an audiobook, I have to remember the track number because I want to switch to another audiobook on my ipod, and end up never quite remembering the right one!

8. Ana O. - September 16, 2009

Belle, usually iPods remember where you left off if you’re listening to audiobooks and not MP3. That’s why I convert all my audiobooks! ;-)

9. Elizabeth - September 16, 2009

You can remember the page number? Wow. I theoretically have my shelves organized similar to yours, but in reality they are becoming mostly wherever I can shove things. Also piles on the floor. It’s a bit of a problem…=)

10. Alexa - September 17, 2009

Hope you’re enjoying Rampant – I loved it.

11. Dawn - She is Too Fond of Books - September 19, 2009

blogging fuel. LOL.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

